Projections - Movie Reviews
With Jim Sabatini

CSNY: Deja Vu

CSNY: Deja Vu

Rated: R 
Reviewed by: Jim  
Release date: July 25, 2008 Released by: Roadside Attractions

The 2006 Freedom of Speech tour for the candid, seminal band Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young is recounted in this sharp-minded documentary.

It's not a concert film, like the recent exception Heart of Gold, but the clips and snippets, along with tour footage and U.S. landscape has much to offer aurally and visually.

Though appealing most to baby-boomers, the quartet still offer much vitality at least for "an audience expecting honesty".

They express a similar disdain to today's endless overseas plight to the one in their heydey, even with a new president and conflict as drafting has been countered with the "stop-loss" policy.

Plenty of attitude shows up on screen here in the name of patriotism, as the timing of the film has indulgence into a huge presidential election year. Tunes like "For What It's Worth" and "Let's Impeach the President" have certain connotations that work within the context of today's news footage and archival ones.

The filmmakers present it all with energy and humor, as the music seems to say more than the group's commentary. It does play as an interesting companion piece to the Dixie Chicks documentary Shut Up & Sing, though hardly less provocative and immediate.

  Frank Chris Jim Nina Sam Howard Jennifer Kathleen  Avg. 
CSNY: Deja Vu        B                  B 

Home | Search | Reviewer Bios | Links | Mail Us
Copyright © 2008 Projections